OneSearch
Specialized Databases/eResources
- Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowFor information on topics in the health care area, this database includes articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. The database covers materials printed from 1980 to the present and may be searched by subject. Full text articles may be printed from the computer screen or e-mailed.
- EBSCO CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database provides subject and keyword searching capabilities to specialized articles from more than 620 nursing & allied health journals. Evidence-based Care Sheets and health-related pamphlets are also included. Full text articles may be printed from the computer screen or emailed.
- Elsevier Science Direct; College Edition This link opens in a new window
A broad database of journal articles and books providing access to more than 2450 journals and 11,000 books. Covers the areas of health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database collects statistical information, both qualitative and quantitative, on more than 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources such as market research reports, scientific journals, and government databases. Includes more than 15,000 studies, industry reports, dossiers, and infographics, plus forecasts on over 500 industries and 40 economies over a period of five years. All information is prepared and checked by a research team of more than 80 analysts.
General Databases
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Many of the articles are full-text and available in both PDF and HTML formats. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2014.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. Articles can be searched by key word. Retrieved articles appear as high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed and printed.
Selected Print & Online Periodicals Available in the Library
The library’s current periodical collection is located toward the back of the 2nd floor where the periodicals are arranged in boxes alphabetically by their titles. To find out which periodical titles the library owns, please consult either the library’s online catalog.
Academic Journals
- ACSM's Health & Fitness Journal (online)
- American Journal of Clinical Nutrition (print & online)
- Journal of Research in Childhood Education (print & online)
Magazines and Newsletters
- Harvard Health Letter
- Health
- Mayo Clinic Health Letter
- Nutrition Today (online)
- Tufts University Health & Nutrition Letter
- University of California Berkeley Wellness Letter
How to Find an Article with OneSearch
Off Campus Use of the Databases
Off-Campus Use:
Access to the online databases from off campus requires your username and password. Students may access these databases by logging in to the MyVCCCD website (http://my.vcccd.edu) and typing their username and password.
Click the “Library & Learning Resources” tab.
Click the "OneSearch" button.
Click the "Databases A-Z" link if you know which database to use or the "Databases by Subject" link at the top of the page.