Online Reference eBooks
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research. The diverse subject areas from which the volumes have been chosen include: Arts, Literature, Biography, Sciences, and Social Sciences. These reference materials, originally published in print format, are now accessible electronically and can be searched by keyword, article title, or subject. Articles may be printed or e-mailed.
- Salem Press eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis database provides ebooks in numerous areas of study and research including science, history and historical primary sources, literature and literary criticism, psychology and behavioral sciences, and careers. The collection can be searched, including by keyword or subject. Print versions of these books are available in the library.
General Reference Books
Reference materials may provide useful background and overview information on your topic. Below is a list of reference titles available through the Moorpark College Library Catalog. All of the print reference sources are located on the second floor of the library in the Reference section.
African American Almanac
Call Number: Ref E 185 N385 1997
African American Atlas: Black History and Culture-An Illustrated Reference
Call Number: Ref E 185 A79 1998
Almanacs of American Life
Call Number: Ref. E 178 .A45
Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref E 185.86 B542 1993b
Chronology of African-American History: Significant Events and People from 1619 to the Present
Call Number: Ref E 185 H64 1991
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Call Number: Ref. E185.E54 1995
Negro Almanac: A Reference Work on the African American
Call Number: Ref E 185 N385 1989
Reference Library of Black America*
Call Nymber: Ref E185 R44 1997
Biographical Books
African American Firsts in Science & Technology
Call Number: Ref Q141 .W43 1999 (Reference Collection)
African American Lives edited by Henry Louis Gates Jr. & Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham
Call Number: Ref. E185.96 .A446 2004 (Reference Collection)
African American Lives: The Struggle for Freedom Vol. 1 to 1877
On Reserve - Two Hour Library Use Only
E 185.C356 2005 Vol. 1
African American Voices: A Documentary Reader, 1619-1877
On Reserve - Two Hour Library Use Only
Call Number: E443.A37 2009
African Americans on Television: Race-ing for Ratings
Call Number: PN1992.8.A34 A48 2013
American Icons
Call Number: Ref. E169.1 A472155 2006 (Reference Collection)
American National Biography*
Call Number: Ref CT213 A68 1999 (Reference Collection)
Autobiography of a People: Three Centuries of African American History Told by Those Who Lived It
On Reserve - Two Hour Library Use Only
Call Number: E185 A97 200
Black Firsts: 4000 Ground-Breaking and Pioneering Historical Events
Call Number: Ref E185.B574 2003 (Reference Collection)
Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref E185.86 B542 1993b (Reference Collection)
Chronology of African-American History: Significant Events and People from 1619 to the Present
Call Number: Ref E 185 H64 1991 (Reference Collection)
Dictionary of American Biography* (Look up the name of your person in the "Index" volume.)
Call Number: Ref E176 D56 (Reference Collection)
Dictionary of American Negro Biography
Call Number: Ref E185.96 D53 1982 (Reference Collection)
Distinguished African American Scientists in the 20th Century
Call Number: Ref. Q141 .D535 1996 (Reference Collection)
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Call Number: Ref. E185.E54 1995 (Reference Collection)
Negro Almanac: A Reference Work on the African American
Call Number: Ref E 185 N385 1989 (Reference Collection)
Notable Black American Women
Call Number: Ref E 185.96 N68 1992 (Reference Collection)