The Library's databases contain thousands of scholarly and professional articles, reports, statistics, case studies, book chapters, eBooks and reference eBooks. The databases on this page have been selected as being of particular value to your class.
Access to the online databases from off campus requires your username and password. Students may access these databases by logging in to the MyVCCCD website and entering their username and password.
Issues and Controversies in American History
Examining a wide range of topics in American history, this database combines authoritative, factual accounts with in-depth explanations of opposing viewpoints concerning contentious issues in American history.
EBSCO America: History and Life with Full Text *
The best database to use to cover the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR (archival full text academic journals in various disciplines)*
This archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
Salem Press eBooks
This database provides eBooks in numerous areas of study and research including science, history and historical primary sources, literature and literary criticism, psychology and behavioral sciences, and careers. The collection can be searched, including by keyword or subject. Print versions of these books are available in the library.
ARTstor (Images only database): This rich digital library includes more than 500,000 images from the areas of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture. Descriptive information is given for the individual images.
*Includes scholarly journals.
Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Librarian!
Gale eBooks: A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in eBook format, for multidisciplinary research.
EBSCO Academic Search Complete: A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Gale Academic OneFile: A database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Credo Reference: A collection of more than 530 general and specialized full-text reference books searchable by subject; search results include other eBook sources, free web materials, and articles available in selected Moorpark College Library databases.
ProQuest US Newsstream: U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.