The library subscribes to a number of databases. There are two types of databases: general and subject. Which database you use depends on your topic and your research needs. A general database covers a variety of topics and may include both scholarly and popular sources. Subject databases specialize in a particular subject, and the sources indexed in them are generally from scholarly sources.
The eResources green buttons will give you access to the Moorpark College Library databases . The two buttons have the same content. The databases are just listed differently. These databases contain scholarly and professional articles, magazine and newspaper articles, reports, statistics, case studies, book chapters and eBooks. The databases on this page have been selected as being of particular value to your class.
InfoTrac Academic OneFile*: A database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in a broad range of subjects. Coverage begins in 1980.
EBSCO Academic Search Complete*: A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Proquest National Newspapers: This database provides full-text articles from five of the major U.S. newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
World News Digest: This database provides international and domestic news summaries of the major political, social, and economic events since 1940. Updated twice a week, the collection covers current news as well as news written at the time an event occurred, thereby providing access to primary source material.
eLibrary*: A database comprised of articles from popular magazines, scholarly journals, current newspapers and newswires, television and radio transcripts, photographs and maps, and numerous reference books. All materials are full-text.
LexisNexis Academic: This database provides access to information on topics in law and legal research, companies and business, and health and medicine; coverage also includes subjects in the news.
* Includes scholarly journals.
PRO & CON DATABASES
CQ Researcher: Especially useful in gathering in-depth information on topics of current social, economic, environmental, and political interest, this database is a collection of the issues of the CQ Researcher from 1991 to the present.
InfoTrac Opposing Viewpoints: This resource examines social issues and provides access to a large collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, court-case overviews, links to websites, podcasts, and image galleries.
Issues and Controversies:
Current issues database that provides objective analysis of opposing points of view on topics of current and historical interest.
Email us at: firstname.lastname@example.org
Email us your reference question being as clear and specific as possible concerning your needs. It is often helpful to know why you are doing research: is it for a class, what is the assignment and other helpful information. Be sure to indicate any deadlines you have.